a gift for my brother

I have finally – finally – finished the embroidery project I started last summer, as a gift for my brother on his 50th birthday. I’ve never been good at estimating quantities, whether time or volume or distance. I started the stitching about a month before we visited Chicago and attended his birthday bash. But the ideas just kept flowing, and my fingers couldn’t keep up. It wasn’t ready in time, and I’ve been working on it ever since. I’ve set it aside for months at a time, unable to concentrate, then picked it back up in bursts of creative flow. And now, finally, it is finished: cushion coverAnd here are some details. The first lot are the comic strip characters from our childhood. My brother is a big fan of Charles Schultz (Peanuts) and Johnny Hart (B.C. and the Wizard of Id.)

B.C.wizard of id

red baron

He also loves monster movies and slapstick. Here are the Marx Brothers, the Three Stooges, and Lon Chaney as the Phantom of the Opera.

marx bros

3 stooges

lon chaneyOf course there’s rich pickings from the logos of the many bands he loves:

the beatles

buzzcocks

monkees

the who

the dBs

XTCAnd then, there are also some tokens of his own creative life as a writer and musician:

typewriterbook

guitar

mix tapepick pocket

stax signIt will be off to him in the post on Monday. And now I can put down my embroidery needle and contemplate the next stitching project. Perhaps something a bit less ambitious….

2 thoughts on “a gift for my brother

Leave a Reply

